Vitality Within Your Sacral Chakra

Chakras are energy centers in our body that run from our pelvic floor to the top of our heads. There are seven chakras within our bodies that have their unique color and purpose. These energy points all emit and receive life force energy. Balanced chakras are essential when it comes to our health and well-being. I felt inspired to start with the sacral chakra, also known as Swadhisthana. When this chakra is balanced, it is vital and alive, which is our essence and core. It’s who we are.

The sacral is our second chakra and regulates our emotions, creativity, pleasure, and sensuality. Orange is the color correlated with this lively energy center. It also corresponds with the element of water. This orange ball of energy is vital in our relationships, childbirth, sexuality, feeling our inner and outer worlds, and expression. The womb and sexual organs are areas that this chakra governs, literally creating and forming life. It takes your breath away.

Let’s find out why this chakra is so essential in our overall health and well-being.

The Significance of the Sacral Chakra

Our sacral chakra is about 3 inches below our navel in our lower belly and level with our lumbar vertebrae. The areas that it governs in the body are as follows:

  1. Sexual Organs
  2. Spleen
  3. Womb
  4. Lower Vertebrae
  5. Appendix
  6. Kidneys
  7. Pelvis
  8. Hips
  9. Bladder
  10. Adrenal Glands
  11. Large Intestine

When this chakra is out of alignment, you could have problems with any of these areas of your body—experiencing stomach issues, lower back pain, kidney infections, urinary tract infections, and stress, to name a few. You will also feel drained, no zest for life, empty, and unfulfilled. You will essentially be going through the motions.

What causes our sacral chakra to go out of alignment?

Relationships in our lives have taught us that it is not ok to have our desires. Fulfilling the needs of others was the top priority. Pushing down our desires, sexuality, sensuality, and creativity was required in keeping our relationships maintained. Somewhere along the way, we learned that our wants and desires were wrong, and we should hide them. We ended up feeling ashamed for even having them.

What do we lose when we bury our desires?

  1. Personal Power
  2. Love and Trust
  3. Pleasure
  4. Sexuality
  5. Sensuality
  6. Creativity
  7. Intimacy
  8. Connection
  9. Happiness
  10. Life Force

Healing Your Sacral Chakra

Ask yourself some questions

When did I start losing my desires and my dreams? When did other’s needs become more important than my own? What makes me feel ashamed? Am I afraid of something? In honoring myself, what would change? Who would accept me, and who wouldn’t? What would happen if I started living authentically? What is it that I’m not expressing?

Visualize this area in your body. I like to put my hands on my lower belly and imagine what it is like in there. What is it that you see? Examples are: Is it dark, light, empty, full, busy, warm, or cold? If it feels vacant, what does it need to fill it? Sit with your body. You may find that it needs comfort, friendship, intimacy, expression, or movement. When you listen to your body and give it what it has been lacking, it will be easier to resist external influences, making the need feel worse.

Intimacy versus Codependency

Giving to others is a beautiful thing, and it brings us happiness. Intimate love will never have us lose ourselves in the process of loving them. If that is the case, that is codependency. True intimacy allows reciprocity, the flow of giving and receiving, feeling stable, alive, and free simultaneously, allowing growth, expansion, and genuine connection in its most beautiful form.

Activities to express yourself

Expression is so important, and you can do this through dancing, yoga, painting, singing, roller skating, traveling, sports, hiking, walking, swimming, laughing, doing something spontaneous. Do anything that feels freeing. Remember, this chakra is associated with water, so any water activity, including showers and baths, is excellent. Get playful and explorative!

It’s all about the color orange

Eat foods that are the color orange. Some examples are oranges, sweet potatoes, carrots, salmon, ginger, cinnamon, pumpkin, cantaloupe, orange peppers, and turmeric.

Surround yourself with crystals that are in this color family. Examples of these are Carnelian, Tiger’s Eye, Orange Calcite, Orange Moonstone, Gold Stone, Amber, Sunstone, Tangerine Quartz, Aragonite Star Clusters, and Citrine.

Gratitude for who you are

This week, keep your gratitude journal going. Write down the things and people that bring you joy. Feel how grateful you are and experience that feeling. Touch your belly and your back and feel the warmth and energy of this bright, beautiful chakra.

Have a wonderful week! xoxo

Posted in